Calcutta Mathematical Society


"The Officers of the Society shall be chosen out of the Members and shall consist of a President, five Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer, a Secretary, an Editorial Secretary, and an Assistant Secretary. The President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, Secretaries with as many other Members as shall make a total of twenty-two (including the Assistant Secretary, if any) shall constitute a Council for the management and direction of the affairs of the Society."


The Council is the main governing body, having the management and direction of all the affairs of the Society, subject to the control of the General Meetings. The Council meets periodically at the Society and frames Rules for the management and governance of the same from time to time. It also takes charge of appointing at different positions of the Society and is liable to draw up and produce a report on the state of affairs of the Society at the Annual General Meeting.


The President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary and other Members of the Council are elected annually by ballot at the Annual General Meeting of the Society. Members are elected and nominated in the ordinary General Meeting of the Society on a periodic basis. Please check the Membership page for more details regarding this.

Top Members

Name Designation EMail ID
Prof. RajKumar Roychowdhury President [email protected]
PROF. RASAJIT KUMAR BERA Vice President [email protected]
Prof. Dilip Ganguly Vice President [email protected]
Prof. Indrajit Lahiri Vice President [email protected]
Prof. Himadri Pai Majumdear Vice President [email protected]
Prof. Patrik Maldowney Vice President [email protected]
Prof. Sanjay Sen Secreatary [email protected]
Dr. Arindam Bhattacharya Asst. Secretary [email protected]
Dr. Koushik Ghosh Treasurer [email protected]
Dr. Joydev Chattopadhyay Editorial Secretary [email protected]
Other Members of Council
Prof. Rajat Banerjee Council Member [email protected]
Dr. Balai Chaki Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Debidas Chattoraj Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Kanak Kanti Das Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Dhurjati Prasad Datta Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Kajal De Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Sanjib Kumar Dutta Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Nurul Islam Council Member [email protected]
Dr. Partha Karmakar Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Asit Kumar Sarkar Council Member [email protected]
Dr. Aloke Pal Council Member [email protected]
Prof. Samares Pal Council Member [email protected]
Dr. Kalishankar Tiwari Council Member [email protected]